For All Those Wandering Souls

I cannot help but feel I like I am on the periphery of life whenever I stay stationary for too long.
That I am not allowing my life the richness that it craves.
It’s not that I don’t strive for home.
It’s that I can’t stay home for more than a little while before my heart aches for elsewhere.
I can’t really explain it, but I feel restless when I’m resting too long.

I don’t know why.
Maybe it’s because I’m running away from all my demons and when I slow down, they catch up.
Maybe it’s because I’m still a kid and don’t want to settle.
Maybe it’s because I only truly feel alive when I escape monotony and embrace true spontaneity.
I’m not sure.

But this is a shoutout for all those wandering souls,
for those that embrace the discomfort of being in a place where nothing is familiar, and your tongue forms weird shapes and noises that no one else understands.
For those people that love to get lost in the diversity and confusion of life,
that lose themselves only so they can find themselves.
This is for those that feel anxious when sitting still, but free when faced with uncertainty.
This is for those creative souls that fall asleep to the lullabies of morning bird song.

I can’t help but miss the chaos of not knowing where I’ll sleep nor what direction to go.

This is for you wandering souls,
For you thrill-seekers and adrenaline junkies that find pause and peace on the edges of cliffs.

For those of us that are constantly searching for something…more.

Picture: Throwback to when I was in Japan. 

Leave a Reply

